An introduction to the Governing Body


Following a formal agreement to federate three local schools in November 2016 we are a newly constituted governing body made up of representatives from parents, staff, foundation, local authority and co-opted governors most of whom previously served on the governing bodies of the three federated schools of Tiverton High School, Heathcoat Primary School and Rackenford Church of England Primary School.

We work with our schools and leaders to ensure a high quality, inclusive education which enables all students to maximise their potential and make greater progress than expected.

To achieve this we will:

  • support and challenge leaders
  • have knowledge of the student experience
  • have a comprehensive understanding of how the  school works
  • have the benefits to the students at the heart of all our decisions
  • strive to engage with parents
  • ensure governors are well trained

The Full Governing Body (FGB) has the following sub-groups for both the primary and secondary phase which are chaired by governors and report to the FGB:

  • Resources and Personnel
  • Teaching, Progress and Welfare
  • Ethos (Rackenford Primary only)

The FGB also has First and Second Committees to deal with Disciplinary/Exclusions/Appeals.

In addition the FGB aims to set up any further local groups needed to focus on specific local issues relating to each of the three federated schools. These groups will be made up of a mix of governors and other members of the community with the relevant skills and knowledge applicable to each local group.

  Jason Cox


Chair of Governors (Member of all Committees)


    Sammy Crook


Head of Secondary Phase (Secondary Resources and T,P&W)



Jayne Keller


Head of Primary Phase (Primary Resources, T,P&W, Ethos)



Adrian Webber


Parent Governor (Primary T,P&W)



Flora Wood


Parent Governor (Secondary T,P&W)



Pam Roberts


Staff Governor (Secondary T,P&W)


    Helen Hyland


Foundation Governor (Primary T,P&W Chair)


    Steph Jeffs


Foundation Governor (Primary Ethos Chair)



Les Heywood


Foundation Governor (Primary Ethos)


  Phillip Barlow


Foundation Governor (Primary Resources)



Sarah Child


Local Authority Governor (Primary Resources and Ethos)

  Sharon Taylor


Co-opted Governor (Secondary T,P&W Chair)

  David Hicks


Co-opted Governor (Secondary Resources Chair)

    Teresa Sturtivant


Co-opted Governor (Secondary T,P&W)



Alison Williams


Co-opted Governor (Primary Resources Chair)